• Per Nørgård and Niels Rosing-Schow
  • Esperanza (1997)
    (Hermit Crab Tango)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Niels Rosing-Schow

  • 1.0.0+bcl.1/[acn]/str(
  • 4 min

Programme Note

'Tortoise Tango' (1984), ´Light of a Night - Paul with bird (1989) and 'Esperanza - Hermit Crab Tango' (1997) are (the first) three movements of a suite 'Animals in Concert' for piano. The movements can be performed separately.

Esperanza and Tortoise Tango were arranged for saxophone quartet by Jesper Nordin in 2001 – these also for bandoneon and small ensemble by Niels Rosing-Schow, in 1999.

Per Nørgård writes about Esperanza: The tango situation is quite special for a Hermit Crab. It is a well-known fact that the hermit crab - this soft animal - must run the gauntlet among the many perils at the bottom of the sea when it must move hose. I have chosen to express the angers by a tango pattern - sharp as a cactus - through which the tune, optimistic, slips to its new shelter. I have borrowed the tune from songwriter Hanne Methling's “Introduction”: 'I want to get through this time!' she sings in a ecstatically ascending melody line - and I believe that these words must correspond very well to the mood of the hermit crab: 'Esperanza' - the green runners of hope wind among the latticework formed by the tango rows.

Per Nørgård

View Score

Score preview