• Bent Sørensen
  • The Birds of Lament

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 2tbn, 3perc
  • 8 min

Programme Note

Many years ago I heard the Irish myth about the Bird of Lament, the bird whose cries at night augur the death of a sailor at sea. My piece is full of 'lamento' whereas traces of birds only occur sporadically.

The Birds of Lament is the third piece in my trombone trilogy which also contains The Bells of Vineta for trombone solo and Birds and Bells for trombone and ensemble.

The piece was written for the Ensemble L'Itiniraire as a commission from the Gulbenkian Foundation.

- Bent Sørensen