• Bent Sørensen
  • Trotto (1983)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • vn, vc, ob, bn, hn
  • 9 min

Programme Note

The Quintet Trotto was composed in the spring 1983 to the Western Jutland Chamber Ensemble, who premiered the work in June the same year. A quiet and pastoral music with calling horns and folk musical fragments of melodies are through the three movements of the piece met by a manic and stressed music among others created by mechanical sound repetitions and breathless musical oscillations. The two characters overshadow each other and incessantly the peace is infiltrated with mania so that the resting points of the music disappear.

’Trotto’ is the name of an old Italian dance, which rhythm is apparent as an enervating violin rhythm in the middle of the first movement.

- Bent Sørensen