• Anthony Payne
  • Sonatas & Ricercars (1970)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • wind quintet (fl.ob.cl.bsnhn)
  • 14 min

Programme Note

This work was written in the Autumn and Winter of 1970 for the Music in our Time concerts, and was first performed incomplete by young players of the Watford School of Music uner Kenneth Leaper. It is in nine continous sections, five interludes, featuring each of the soloists in turn, enclosing and linking four more extended ensemble movements. The structure seeks to embrace the variety of texture, mood and musical process found in the traditional four movement work. Thus the first main section is a scherzo in which bell-like notes interact with running passages randomly organized, the second is a set of slow chorale variations on a progression of chords of varying density, the third, Motet, is a polyphonic development section, and the last, Quolibet, a three-tiered recapitulation which superimposes the music of the three previous sections.

The basic material of the work is exposed and canonically extended in the five interludes which are accompanied solos for flute, clarinet, bassoon, oboe, and horn respectively. This means that some of the material is not actually heard in its primary state until after it has been developed and transformed.

Anthony Payne