• John Joubert
  • Silas Marner (1961)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 22224231timp.percpf.hpstr
  • 10 singing parts
  • 2 hr 10 min
  • John Joubert
  • Rachel Trickett after the novel by George Eliot
  • English
  • There are no performances of this work

Programme Note

Set in the fictional village of Raveloe, the plot centres on Silas Marner, a weaver who is forced to leave his hometown in the north after being falsely accused of theft by members of his chapel. His religious faith gone, for fifteen years Marner isolates himself from the life of the village and becomes a miser. But when the gold that he cherishes is stolen and he adopts a child whose mother has just died, his life changes dramatically for the better.

View Score

Act 1
Act 2
Act 3