• Edward Gregson
  • Tuba Concerto (brass band version) (1976)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Besses o' the Barn Band with funds from the Arts Council of Great Britain

  • Brass band
  • Tuba
  • 18 min

Programme Note

This work was commissioned by Besses O'The' Barn Band with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain. It is dedicated to John Fletcher who gave the first performance, conducted by the composer, in 1976.

The concerto is in three movements following the usual quick-slow-quick pattern. The first is in sonata form with two contrasting themes, one rhythmic in character and the other lyrical. There is a reference made in the central section to the opening theme of Vaughan Williams's Tuba Concerto but only in passing. The second movement unfolds a long cantabile melody for the soloist which contrasts with a ritornello idea announced three times by the ensemble. The last movement is in rondo form, the main theme alternating with two episodes. The first of these is a broad sweeping tune, the second jazz-like in style. After a short cadenza, reference is made to the opening of the concerto and the work ends with a triumphal flourish.

This version of the concerto, for Tuba and Brass ensemble, has been prepared for by James Stobart.

© Edward Gregson


More Info