Commissioned by Köln Musik

  • vc
  • 12 min

Programme Note

The title suggests James Joyce's wonderful literary principle, the "stream of consciousness". The piece is a stream of impressions coming to one's mind, where the direct relation between one event and the next can seem irrational. But the sum of all events creates a certain soundspace, a certain direction. And, although fragmented, the form is the result of the interaction between three carefully calculated waveforms.

Stream was commissioned by the Cologne Philharmonic for the 1999 Bach Festival, as a part of a series of concerts featuring 6 leading cellists, each playing one Bach solo suite and one commissioned work

Programme note © 1999 Rolf Wallin