• Nicola LeFanu
  • Ervallagh (1993)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Park Lane Group with funds from the Robert Hicks Memorial Award

  • Alto Saxophone
  • 5 min

Programme Note

Ervallagh is a little prelude lasting about five minutes. Like my other saxophone works, the quartet (1986) and the concerto (1990), it uses microtones throughout. It is a single train of thought, predominantly reflective. It is curiously valedictory in tone; perhaps because of echoes of Blood Wedding, sound-world from which I had already moved on; perhaps because it was composed in the West of Ireland, as I re-discovered childhood haunts. Ervallagh is in Connemara: a scatter of cottages in the lea of the mountains, looking out to sea, to the Aran Islands.

Ervallagh was commissioned by the Park Lane Group, with funds from the Robert Hicks Memorial Award (administered by the Clarinet and Saxophone Society of Great Britain). It was first performed by Kay Bywater in January 1994.

© Nicola LeFanu