• Thea Musgrave
  • Colloquy (1960)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Written for Manoug Parikian and Lamar Crowson

  • Violin/pf
  • 10 min

Programme Note

Colloquy was written for Manoug Parikian and Lamar Crowson for their recital at the Cheltenham Festival in 1960.

There are four concise movements. The first, a fast movement with vigorous rhythmic motifs and sharp contrasts between sections. The second, a scherzo in rondo form with lyrical episodes. In the third movement, the material is at first very fragmented, but then builds with cumulative effect to the climax at the end, which is the main climax of the work. The last movement is slow and short.

Thea Musgrave