World Premieres for Britta Byström

World Premieres for Britta Byström
© Lars Skaaning
Two world premieres await Britta Byström this October 2020.

First, A Walk to Beethoven’s First Symphony, on October 22, 2020 with Dalasinfoniettan and Malin Broman. This 4 minute work composed for Dalasinfoniettan forms part of their Beethoven 250th anniversary celebration with the concert ‘Rebellen Beethoven’ (Beethoven the rebel).

The concert will be at Kristinehallen in Falun, Sweden, on October 22 and 23.
On October 23 the concert will be live streaming from this link.

Then, Feather Music, on October 27, 2020 with Ensemble Pluma and conductor Magnus Plejdrup.

With this concert, Ensemble Pluma explores the Nordic sound, by combining a classic, Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto, with two new interpretations of Nordic Sound by Swedish composer Britta Byström and Danish composer Magnus Plejdrup.

The concert will be in Aarhus and Randers on October 27 and 29.

Winner of this year’s Solo Work at the Swedish Chamber Games with the violin solo piece Baum in der Stadt, Britta Byström is one of Nordic countries’ most prominent composers with more than 60 works to her name. Discover more of her catalogue of works.

Byström won the Detroit Symphony Orchestra’s Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Award in 2015 and became a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Music the following year. Her works have been performed by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Cologne Gürzenich Orchestra and more. They are built without compromise or cushioning, and their sparse elegance has been compared to that of a Japanese Garden. (Andrew Mellor 2019)

Related News