Mark Adamo's New Cello Concerto

Mark Adamo's New Cello Concerto
© J Henry Fair 2018

Note: The American Composers Orchestra announced that its April 2020 premiere of Last Year will not take place.

On April 2 at Carnegie Hall, the American Composers Orchestra, conductor George Manahan, and cellist Jeffrey Zeigler perform the world premiere of Last Year (Concerto for Solo Violoncello with Harp, Piano, String Orchestra, and Percussion) by composer Mark Adamo. Last Year's four-movement narrative speaks to the composer's anxieties surrounding the ever-increasing threats of climate change, while also paying homage to Vivaldi's Four Seasons. An eloquent program note by Adamo and a digital perusal score are available on our website.

Co-commissioned by the American Composers Orchestra, New Century Chamber Orchestra, ROCO, and Manitoba Chamber Orchestra, Last Year receives its Canadian Premiere in Manitoba November 18 2020 with Zeigler as soloist and conductor Scott Yoo, and will be performed by ROCO in November 2021, featuring their principal cellist Richard Belcher as soloist.

Other 2020 Adamo highlights include performances of Lysistrata, or The Nude Goddess at Pittsburgh Festival Opera June 22-23, as well as the world premiere of a new wind ensemble version of the Overture to Lysistrata, arranged by G. Schirmer's Director of Production Peter Stanley Martin, at Tanglewood July 19. The summer of 2021 will bring the much-anticipated world premiere of The Lord of Cries at Santa Fe Opera, with a libretto by Adamo and score by John Corigliano.

Please enjoy a selection from Adamo's orchestral catalog:

Alcott Music (Suite from Little Women) (2007) 20 Minutes
Listen on Spotify | View the score

Four Angels (2007) 25 Minutes
Solo hp + 2(pic).2(ca).2(bcl).2(cbn)/4.2.2+btbn.1/timp.3perc/pf(cel)/str
Listen to Movement III on Spotify | Watch on YouTube | View the score

Late Victorians (1994) 30 Minutes
Narrator, medium-high voice + 2(pic).1+ca.2.2(cbn)/
Listen on Spotify | View the score

Overture to Lysistrata (2005) 4 Minutes
Listen on Spotify | View the score

Prepositions and the Names of Fish (2011) 5 Minutes
View the score

For more information on Mark Adamo, please contact Marcos Cuevas:

Related News